SEO

  • Google

    Title Tag Lengths in 2016 Are 17% Longer Than 2015

    At a past job interview, one of the questions that they asked me was “how long is the title tag length for this year?” I won’t lie, the question bothered me. I knew the answer, but at the same time the question didn’t define my skill as a SEO specialist nor did it reflect my qualities. In response, I said that the standard definition you hear would be 55 characters. Instead it really depends on the character width and em size. By the time I was done explaining the title tag length, the interviewer was lost as I went into a more technical answer than she had expected to hear. Was I right? Absolutely. Did I give an elaborate answer on a simple question, because I was annoyed with the question? Most definitely.

    For 2016, Google has been testing a major change to the width of the left-hand column for organic search results. Google is testing a 17% increase in pixel containers from 512 pixels to 600 total pixels.

    2016 title Length

    Source: MOZ

    While you might be thinking that with 17% more space in 2016 for title tags there is room for 9 extra characters in the title tag. This would be true, except for character widths ’em’ as previously mentioned. A lower case ‘i’ will take a lot less space on a search result than a capital ‘W.’ So while it may seem the 9 extra characters will fit in search results, make sure to carefully watch the characters you’re adding for your search results in 2016.

    My recommendation for 2016 is to keep your title tags under 60 characters and you’ll be fine.

  • 50 SEO Experts On Twitter

    50 SEO Experts You Should Be Following on Twitter

    Are you looking to get your website ranked #1 on Google? Join the club. When you’re looking for SEO news, where do you tend to turn to these days? Many of you will turn to blogs, communities, your own research and Twitter.

    With so much information out there from respected resources telling you that ‘SEO is dead,’ I thought it’d be wise to share with you 50 of my favorite SEO experts in the industry.

    To begin with, solid Search Engine Optimization experts have a proven track record in the ever-changing world of search. As search engines constantly change their algorithm, it’s important that these SEOs know the difference between Google’s Panda, Penguin, AI, etc… These individuals not only ‘talk the talk,’ but also ‘walk the walk,’ so to speak.

    1. Bruce Clay – @BruceClayInc
    2. Kristopher B. Jones – @krisjonescom
    3. Marcus Tober – @marcustober
    4. Andy Beard – @AndyBeard
    5. Joost De ValkĀ – @yoast
    6. Danny Sullivan – @dannysullivan
    7. Brent Csutoras – @brentcsutoras
    8. Duane Forrester – @DuaneForrester
    9. Brian Dean – @Backlinko
    10. Rank Fishkin – @randfish
    11. Barry Schwartz – @RustyBrick
    12. Jon Cooper – @PointBlankSEO
    13. Bill Slawski – @bill_slawski
    14. Julie Joyce – @JulieJoyce
    15. Mark Traphagen – @marktraphagen
    16. DEJAN – @dejanseo
    17. Phil Rozek – @philrozek
    18. Aleyda Solis – @aleyda
    19. Jordan Kasteler – @JordanKasteler
    20. Joanna Lord – @JoannaLord
    21. Loren Baker – @lorenbaker
    22. Mitchell Stoker – @mitchellstoker
    23. Zac Johnson – @ZacJohnson
    24. Simon Kloostra – @SimonKloostra
    25. Sean Si – @SEO_Hacker
    26. AJ Ghergich – @SEO
    27. Ann Smarty – @seosmarty
    28. Eric Siu – @ericosiu
    29. Lisa Barone – @LisaBarone
    30. Ash Buckles – @ashbuckles
    31. Chris Winfield – @chriswinfield
    32. David Harry – @SEOdojo
    33. Derek Edmond – @DerekEdmond
    34. Eric Enge – @stonetemple
    35. Ian Lurie – @portentint
    36. Matt McGee – @mattmcgee
    37. Lee Odden – @leeodden
    38. Paul May – @paulmay
    39. Tess Neale – @tessneale
    40. Dan Shure – @dan_shure
    41. Ross Hudgens – @RossHudgens
    42. Stacey MacNaught – @staceycav
    43. Geoff Kenyon – @geoffkenyon
    44. Brian Clark – @brianclark
    45. Dharmesh Shah – @dharmesh
    46. Larry Kim – @larrykim
    47. Will Critchlow – @willcritchlow
    48. Jason Acidre – @kaiserthesage
    49. Shane Barker – @shane_barker
    50. Steven Jacobs – @StevenJacobs_

    Do you see any prominent SEOs that I may have left out in the 50 Top SEO Experts to Follow on Twitter list? Please let me know in the comments section below.

    Related: 50 Conversion Rate Experts You Should Be Following on Twitter

  • Death of SEO

    The Death of SEO Claims [Infographic]

    It’s all too common that I’ll tell someone that I do SEO for a living and they will say “Oh yea SEO is dead though.” Well I’m sure you’ve heard that from someone, but have you actually seen it dead? What do you think are the factors that make a listing come up on the first page? Sure a lot of the stuff that used to work back in the day, don’t work anymore, but SEO is no where near dead although the definition of SEO might not be the same for you and me.

    The Death of SEO.

    SEO Graphic by SEO Book